Wisconsin State Grain: Corn (Zea mays)

The Wisconsin State grain is corn.

Corn was designated the official state grain in 1989 by Wisconsin Act 162. During legislative debate, sponsors claimed designating corn as the state grain would draw attention to its importance as a cash crop in Wisconsin and make people more aware of corn’s many uses, including livestock feed, sweeteners, ethanol fuel, and biodegradable plastics.

↩  Back to Wisconsin Official Symbols